Riding a Bit High…

30 07 2011

Tonight I made a most delicious dinner. My blood sugars were 14.4 before dinner, which bothered me a bit. I did have a nap today after lunch though, so maybe that’s why?

Today, lunch was sauteed beef strips with green peppers and onions, and I made a lovely dressing with fish sauce, almond butter (home made with raw almonds!), ginger and garlic. Yum.

Anyway, I made delicious sloppy joes for dinner. I BBQ’d 2 portobello mushrooms and put them on top of a bed of shredded romaine. I had a jar of roasted portobello mushroom spaghetti sauce, so I used that as a base and added 2 lbs of ground beef, 1TBLS chili powder, a bit of garlic salt and half a tsp onions powder. I sauteed half a red onion in some tallow and added that to the sauce and cooked it for almost an hour.

I poured it on top of the mushrooms and added half an avocado, sliced. It was delicious. My husband enjoyed it, and my kids did too. My oldest is still having a bit of trouble grasping why we’re going paleo and why she can’t eat bread. She’ll understand one day, I’m sure.

I gave myself 8 units of novo-rapid. I was at 12.8 a little over an hour after dinner so I gave myself another 3 units. A couple of hours later, I was only down to 11.7. An hour later and I was still at 11.7 so I took another 3 units. Finally, when it was time to take my 18 units of levemir, I was down to 9.3.

I suspect it was the jarred spaghettis sauce, because normally I would make my own.

Tomorrow, we’re off to our weekly visit to the farmer’s market! Also, I need to get in some more exercise. Perhaps I’ll go for a bike ride, or take the kids on a death march through the dog park. (It’s not really a death march, they just think it is.)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

